The Resistance and Acceptance of Change

Medium took away the ability to write stories on the mobile app. That made me think of how change affects other areas of my life.

Walter Pop Matthews IV
6 min readApr 26, 2022
Photo by Brad Starkey on Unsplash

I don’t do well with change. Change has been an antagonist throughout my journey that surprisingly turns into the protagonist of my story. It’s uncomfortable, and I’m the type who doesn’t like to budge out of my warm cozy bed on a cold winter morning.

I will hit snooze on the alarm clock until I can no longer afford to hit it off. I like comfort, and as I become more enlightened and wiser, I realize that a convenience is usually a place I have to be rescued from. Before I go deeper down that rabbit hole, let me get back to why I’m writing this.

I’m writing this because I want to address Medium's change to the mobile app. I’m surprised I haven’t read any other articles about this, but I know they exist. Since I became a member in June of 2020, I’ve enjoyed the comfort of being able to start writing whatever came to my mind while I’m either cooking in my kitchen or lying in my bed. I wrote many of my best poems and articles under my covers in the darkness before dawn.

I wondered why I stopped doing that? Maybe it’s my return to music and creating a YouTube channel? Perhaps I’m more…

--

--

Walter Pop Matthews IV

A writer who has written an autobiography in poetry form, songs, a play and thought provoking commentary on various online platforms.