Making Money in My Sleep Is No Longer a Dream

Passive income is the reality that I’m very grateful for

Walter Pop Matthews IV
3 min readSep 15, 2022
Photo by Benjamin Voros on Unsplash

Having that extra stream I had the money and freedom to invest in my dreams.

Walter P.o.p. Matthews IV

Passive/residual income. You should be proud of it, even if it’s a couple of bucks. Why? You put forth the effort to create something beyond your standard income stream. I get a monthly payment from Medium, and I realized I have to stop being so nonchalant because it’s not a lot of money. It fluctuates monthly, but I made close to 10 bucks. It’s ok because I’ll make more. I make money from writing. How cool is that?

I look at it as a blueprint to build my vision on. It’s a beautiful unknown I’m walking in because I’ve never had a solid and steady audience as an artist before. I had a buzz, but it came and went like a breeze. This feels different. I think the hours, the diligence, and the work will pay off.

The tricky part is sticking with something when no one is paying attention or cares. Your belief is what sustains your dream. When you finally find your audience or customers, it always surprises you. Word of mouth, friends, and family is where many of us start, but we all know we have ventured further than that.

--

--

Walter Pop Matthews IV

A writer who has written an autobiography in poetry form, songs, a play and thought provoking commentary on various online platforms.