Combinations and Variations Spark Elation and Innovation

A Rainy May Walk Journal

Walter Pop Matthews IV
3 min readMay 29, 2024

Do you ever wonder what combinations go so well together? Peanut butter, jelly, marshmallows, hot chocolate, iced tea, fresh lemon, hamburgers, and fries.

I can go on and on, so you get the point. Food is my happy place, so that was the first thing that came to mind. The combination that inspired this writing wasn’t food at all. It was Mother Nature and a genre of listening material.

It’s a rainy Saturday afternoon, and after I run some morning errands, I take a brisk afternoon walk in the misty rain. Walking in the rain is one of my favorite pastimes, and I can’t even explain why it gives me so much peace, but it does.

There’s something else that I enjoy. That’s walking and listening to audiobooks. On this wet and cloudy day, I will be more specific. I was listening to the audiobook Dilla Time.

It’s the biography and music history of one of the most revered music producers of my generation, J.Dilla. Unfortunately, he transitioned in 2008, but his legacy lives on.

We are close to the same age; both were in rap groups in the 90s and produced by cutting up samples to make a song. My…

--

--

Walter Pop Matthews IV

A writer who has written an autobiography in poetry form, songs, a play and thought provoking commentary on various online platforms.